Disable Preloader


The PhD Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics was established in 1974 with 50 students and Ms. N. Savitri and Mrs. S. Porkodi as members of the faculty. In the consecutive years Mrs. V. Baby Thilaga, Ms. Chandra Subbulakshmi, Mrs. E. Vellammal and Mrs. R. Nalinikumari entered service and the department successfully functioned under the headship of Ms. N. Savitri. The department was upgraded as PG Department of Mathematics in the year 1985 and Mrs. N. Meenakumari, Mrs. Latha Martin, Mrs. V. Thilagavathy and Mrs. C. Parameswari were duly appointed to handle classes arising out of the introduction of the new PG degree course. M.Phil Mathematics was introduced under the unaided stream in 2007.

At present six members of the staff under the headship of Dr. N. Meenakumari are rendering whole hearted service for the upliftment of students in academic and social levels. Dr. N. Meenakumari and Dr. K. Palani are approved research guides in the department with seven candidates pursuing research under their guidance. The department has been conducting a certificate course on “Office Accounting” for first degree students since 2009.

The department has bagged the “Best Department Award” for two consecutive years (2013-14 & 2014-15).

view details