



A.P.C.Mahalaxmi College for Women Thoothukudi – 628 002



Department of Physics 2013 - 2018

About the Department

The department of Physics was started in the year 2003 to teach under graduate and the department has shown steady progress from the time of the inception. The department has five faculty members who are striving hard to achieve academic excellence. The Department has very well equipped laboratory with a Computer facility. We areproducing high percentage of results every year. The Department has organized many Guest lectures and an International seminar..

Name of the Faculty	Qualification	
S.Sudha	M.Sc., M.Ed., M.Phil.,	
R.SuyaPadhraHaridha	M.Sc.,M.Phil.,SET.,	
D.Mariselvi	M.Sc.,B.Ed.,M.Phil.,	
C.K.Muthumariammal	M.Sc.,B.Ed.,M.Phil.,	
R.Vijayalakshmi	M.Sc.,M.Phil.,	

University Rank Holders

S.No.	Year	Name	Rank
1	2013 - 2014	K.Poonam	III
2	2013 - 2014	M.AdesDelida	XV
3	2013 - 2014	M.Manimegalai	XVII
4	2014 - 2015	S.Parvathi	XVI
5	2015 - 2016	S.Indhumathy	VIII
6	2015 - 2016	L.Gomathi	Х
7	2017 - 2018	R.Sumathi	V
8	2017 - 2018	T.Kannika Devi	XI

Activities of the Department



Field Trip

To provide students with experiences outside their everyday activities and to bridge the Gap between education and hands on experience, Field trip has been arranged for the students.



All India Radio Station

Highlights of the Department

- Best Department Award (2013-2014)
- Overall Sports Champion Trophy (2013-2014)
- Fine arts Winner Trophy (2016-2017)







Future Plan

- To introduce Solar powered Physics Laboratory
- To apply for UGC Minor Research Projects